top of page
  • Writer's pictureBen Waterworth

Piastri, McLaren shine in British GP Qualifying

Oscar Piastri has finally pulled together a performance worthy of his undoubtable skill at Silverstone, storming to an impressive third on the grid for the British Grand Prix.

The Aussie driver, who has struggled so far in 2023, will line-up next to teammate Lando Norris, as both the McLaren’s found form in front of their home fans.

Those same home fans were sent into raptures by Norris, who looked to have secured a famous British pole right at the death of a mixed up qualifying. However he had to settle for second to give McLaren their first front row start in Britain since Heikki Kovalainen in 2008.

(Photo by Yahoo Sport UK)

Norris was second behind none other than Max Verstappen in his dominant Red Bull, with the reigning World Champion securing his fifth consecutive pole and his first in Britain secured in a ‘regular’ qualifying session.

It was further disappointment however for his teammate and main Championship rival Sergio Perez, who was eliminated in Q1 and will start in 16th place.

The Ferrari pairing of Charles Leclerc and Carlos Sainz will start in fourth and fifth on the grid and will be looking to battle it out with the McLaren pair for the final two podium spots behind Verstappen. They were just ahead of the two Mercedes’ of George Russell and Lewis Hamilton, while the impressive Alex Albon was eighth for Williams.

Fernando Alonso and Aston Martin seemed to not be as pacey as previous rounds, with Alonso starting ninth and teammate Lance Stroll in 12th. Pierre Gasly rounds out the top 10 for Alpine, with Nico Hulkenberg 11th for Haas.

While there will be no doubt any questions around who will win the race on Sunday, it will be an interesting battle to watch between the resurgent McLaren’s and the Ferrari and Mercedes’ behind them.

Can Pisatri get his first ever F1 podium? We’ll find out later tonight with the British GP starting at 12am AEST.


1 Max VERSTAPPEN Red Bull Racing 1:26.720 2 Lando NORRIS McLaren +0.241 3 Oscar PIASTRI McLaren +0.372 4 Charles LECLERC Ferrari +0.416 5 Carlos SAINZ Ferrari +0.428 6 George RUSSELL Mercedes +0.435 7 Lewis HAMILTON Mercedes +0.491 8 Alexander ALBON Williams +0.810 9 Fernando ALONSO Aston Martin +0.939 10 Pierre GASLY Alpine +0.969 11 Nico HULKENBERG Haas F1 Team 1:28.896 12 Lance STROLL Aston Martin 1:28.935 13 Esteban OCON Alpine 1:28.956 14 Logan SARGEANT Williams 1:29.031 15 Valtteri BOTTAS Alfa Romeo no time 16 Sergio PEREZ Red Bull Racing 1:29.968 17 Yuki TSUNODA AlphaTauri 1:30.025 18 Guanyu ZHOU Alfa Romeo 1:30.123 19 Nyck DE VRIES AlphaTauri 1:30.513 20 Kevin MAGNUSSEN Haas F1 Team 1:32.378

This article was originally written for The Roar. You can read the published version here


bottom of page